Reviews

"Montrose is one of the most amazing places I have ever been to in my travels. I find myself constantly looking at my iPhone and wishing I was back there. Robert and Jane were fantastic and the accommodation was well above my expectations. 5 Star - in all aspects."

Chris November 2016

"Lovely upscale accommodations. Very private yet not far from town with shops. Robert met us & showed us around. Spa tub was hot & ready upon arrival. Sauna shower was a hit. Basics available for cooking. Beds very comfortable. The night sky was fantastic for star gazing. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you."

Kim December 2016

"It is a beautiful place and location, perfectly appointed with high quality facilities"

Rhob - December 2016

"Love, love, love this house. Everything was far much better than we expected it to be, and Robert made us feel welcome and did so much more than we could ever ask for. After an hour in the house we found a bubble bath for four that wasn’t on the pictures. It was very clean, homely and if we ever have the opportunity for a holiday like this again this would be our first choice for accommodation. Highly recommend it. We give it six stars out of five!"

Hans - Jan 2017

"The cabin was maybe even more beautiful in real life than in pictures. Very well equipped too and the scenery was amazing from the large windows. Robert and Jane were so welcoming and nice. We would definitely stay again - a perfect ending to our New Zealand honeymoon. :)"

Erika - January 2017

"Montrose Estate is a hidden gem waiting to be discovered. At the bottom of a long lush drive is possibly one of the most dramatic views I've seen in a long time. The lodge (Paewaka) is perfectly equipped with all the modern features you wouldn't neccesarily see in traditional lodges (extremely fast wifi too). The Kitchen is a dream to cook in, with an incredible oven. The en-suite is very luxurious as is the entire lodge. My partner and I were so amazed by the property we immediately asked to extend and were fortunate that Robert Jane were so accommodating. They are both incredible hosts going to every measure to make sure our stay was effortless. The property and experience is incredible value for money!! We will be back every time we come to New Zealand!"

Peter - February 2017

"Wow. We had such a fantastic weekend in this beautiful place - it's really special. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, as is the setting, nestled in between the mountains and the river. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We'd love to stay again."

Lauren - March 2017

"Definitely one of the best places we stayed at in NZ! Absolutely amazing place! Spectacular views. The cottage has everything you need. Great full kitchen. Nice big screen TVs and high speed internet. The indoor fireplace was romantic and turned a chilly/wet day into a day for our memories. I highly recommend this place! You wont regret it!"

Prashant - March 2017

"A marvelous scenic location with spectacular accommodation. We stayed at the Paewaka house which has four bedrooms, huge kitchen, dining and lounge areas, a library, three fireplaces, bedroom spa bath with a view, a steam-shower and balconies for everyone. We were in heaven with the two of us and could also imagine all the amazing family and friends vacations that might be had there. Communication with Robert was seamless & welcoming. A wonderful experience."

Nicole - April 2017

"Amazing amazing place. Blew us away, perfect luxury get away in a log cabin, over looking the mountains and Rakaia Gorge. The place is very well set up, luxury bed linens, well appointed kitchen, big open Log fire. One master has a steam shower the other spa bath looking over a babbling brook. The out door spa pool has amazing views. This place is something you would see in North America. Stunning. We will be back."

Daniel - May 2017

"The property is breathtakingly stunning. The cabins are perfect, nestled into the gentle hills on the property overlooking the crystal clear lake out the front. This place is what dreams are made of! Stayed with my husband and kids and we did not want to leave. Mt Hutt skiing was very convenient to get to from the accommodation."

Samara - June 2017

"Montrose Estate was the BEST place we have EVER stayed!! It was the first stop on our honeymoon in NZ and we couldn't have picked a better place to start it off. The property was just wonderful, it was so comfortable, so much thought has clearly gone in to the design and furnishing of it. We had everything we needed and more, a beautiful open fire, gorgeous living area, bedrooms and bathrooms, and incredible views over the Rakaia Gorge. It was beautiful! And very conveniently situated for some snow sports on Mount Hutt! Thanks for a fabulous stay."

Amy - July 2017

"This place is absurdly gorgeous. It is remote so bring everything that you'll need since it's a drive to the nearest store but once you're here, you won't want to leave. Don't expect room service and massages on call. This is a ranch and the homes are first class but is is definitely "self contained luxury" as they describe themselves. If you like to hike, there's a couple options north on the road you took to get here that are excellent. One of the best and unique places I've ever stayed and I've traveled the world."

Stephen - January 2017

"Ever-changing awe-inspiring views. Perfect tranquility. Luxury accommodation. Friendly hosts. Amazing property with private lake."

Michael - July 2017

"Such a beautiful and tranquil spot. We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful and peaceful break with the kids. Waking to the sound of birds and running water is just blissful! Robert and Jane are fantastic and welcoming hosts, and the house was great. The kids loved the walk down to the river and exploring round the lake and the scenery is out of this world. Felt like we were a lot further away from home than we were!"

Cat - Sept 2017

"The pictures and descriptions of this place don't do it adequate justice. It is surrounded by towering mountains yet set in a gorgeous and private river valley. My family and I loved this place, our favorite spot of the 5 Airbnb's we stayed at while in New Zealand. Great for kids and adults alike. We loved the track leading to the property. Robert and Jane were a pleasure to interact with and we took up way too much of Robert's time asking questions and chatting with him. Thanks Robert and Jane!"

Josh - Oct 2017

"Large spacious accommodation. Amazing views and setting. It was lovely. Super relaxing. We didn't want to leave! I feel relaxed just thinking about it."

Lucy - October 2017

"The online photos clearly show that this is an exceptional place to stay, but they fail to do it full justice. The cabin is perched on a hillside, between two running streams. It overlooks its own private lake filled with black swans. It commands a sweeping view of the Rakaia Gorge and the hills beyond. From the outside, the cabin appears quite modest, but inside you encounter understated luxury. It exudes quality. Having given out five stars for several of the fine homes in our month long trip to NZ, that’s the most I can do here, but this is the one I’ll never forget."

Edward - November 2017

"There is a difference between staying at a place and enjoying the entire experience and that's what this place offers as a huge success. We arrived at 2am due to our flight time and Robert still greeted us and showed us through the house. The house has a grandeur feel about it and is complimented by a stunning view. We loved being out of the main town. We had the fire going every night and the spa and shower steam room offer added extras. Definitely recommend this house. We will be back."

Kelly - August 2017

""

Mike - August 2017