Reviews

"Another magical stay at this AMAZING cabin All creature comforts are catered for in this rustic but luxurious property . It is picturesque and the perfect place to relax and recharge."

Sue July 2019

"Restful secluded location, perfect for family gathering. Tranquil and secluded. Beautiful scenery. Close to Mt Hutt ski field. Plenty of firewood. Spacious main bathroom with amazing views from spa bath. Comfortable and warm bedding."

Mike July 2019

"Gorgeous place, very peaceful and quiet, house is perfectly fitted to the nature landscape. Only river is the sound you can hear from the window."

Olga July 2019

"Breathtaking view, fantastic property and great host. Particularly loved the kitchen, living room and hot tub! Everything was perfect, we had a wonderful stay."

Chan family July 2019

"Highly recommend staying here. Really peaceful and an amazing home. A group of six, and each person had a great time away. Robert is a great host too, easy to chat to and is available if needed."

Fraser - January 2019

"Montrose Estate is just incredible. From the rain forest entry to the beautiful landscapes, my breath was taken away. The house we stayed at was amazing and honestly is all you need for ultimate relaxation, we had planned to drive everywhere but decided not to because it was just so peaceful at the estate. When my family and I met Robert; his hospitality and friendliness went above and beyond. Words can’t really express how much we loved staying here. We are already planning when we can eventually come back again!"

Michael January 2019

"Jane and Robert were amazing! as is the property. We stayed for a month and loved it, so much space, the views are stunning anywhere you look. If you are looking to get away from the city and enjoy some peace and quiet, this is the place to go."

Neil May/June 2019

"We were full of expectations before we arrived. We couldn't help but exclaim when we arrived in the valley! The valley is sparsely populated and clean. It is a snowy mountain river jungle pasture. The house facilities are well presented. There is a style that we want to end the journey in the most New Zealand way, so I chose it here. It’s really great. It’s very comfortable to walk around every day. Robert is very enthusiastic. Come and meet us. Tell us about everything in the house."

Shanna - May 2019

"Incredible home, looks exactly like the photos & great communication from the hosts!"

Emma April 2019

"We absolutely loved our stay at Montrose Estate and will be returning to stay again. View was breathtaking. Spa and open fire made the stay. Host went above and beyond to meet us late at night to show us into the property."

Sophie April 2019

"Highly recommended! We had a very good time not only enjoying the amenities but also roaming around the vast estate :)"

Dawn April 2019

"Stunning location and house. Excellent value for what you get."

Alexander March 2019

"“If you want to have unforgettable experience, I recommend you to come here and stay, at least, a week to talk to local people, pure great nature and a zillion of stars in the sky. I stayed with my family for a month. People here made me recall something I forgot in my hectic life in big city and something important in my life. ”"

Kazuomi August 2018

"Hidden gem A beautiful escape in the countryside, close the river and with great views of mount Hutt. Perfect for young families as our kids were able to roam the nearby lake and go exploring to the river and interact with the cows in the nearby paddock. We were able to easily loose ourselves in the location and totally unwind in the evenings with the spacious living room and crackling fire. Within driving distance to the nearby Mt Hutt for ski enthusiasts."

Peter September 2018

"Exceptionally Beautiful Location Stunning location (handy for skiing!) with a panoramic view to die for. A real lodge feel with lots of wood and stone in the decor. Great open fireplace and super comfy beds."

Phillipa September 2018

"Paewaka Chalet - Great Family Accommodation The property is gorgeous and in the perfect location. Loved the space, the lake, streams and river access from the property. The host was outstanding. Robert made us feel welcome and went out of his way to assist where he could. Shooting rifles with Robert was a highlight. Definitely recommend this property for families."

Darius August 2018

"“The whole experience was excellent. What a tranquil place to escape too. Views are spectacular, lodge well appointed and cozy. There was plenty of firewood. Bathrooms amazing with local amenities and steam shower a nice touch. The lake is so picturesque, and the spa had a wonderful outlook and babbling stream running alongside. Would highly recommend”"

Samantha September 2018

"“This lodge is stunning. 5 star facilities in a beautiful location. Perfect for exploring Mount Hutt and the surrounding areas.”"

Claire August 2018

"As soon as we walked in we felt at home & Robert your help throughout our stay was wonderful. Our kids loved the wide open spaces, the lake, playground & just running around exploring we felt that they were safe & could see them play while having a quiet drink. Your house had spectacular views, it was warm, cosy, spacious for 2 families & very clean. The furniture & décor was just beautiful with so much character & what an awesome kitchen to cook in too! What a surprise having a sauna in the shower & that beautiful spa overlooking the mountains & river! We only wish we had more days to spend at Montrose. Couldn’t believe how close it was to Methven & Mt Hutt. We will be certainly recommending your place to family & friends."

Warren August 2018

"Beautiful property in an amazing location. Comfortable bed, great kitchen facilities and nice luxury touches like the spa and toiletries."

Catherine - December 2018

"Our 3 young boys had a fantastic time playing around the ponds, walking trails and creeks. The cabin is warm, very clean and the bathrooms luxurious. Robert and Jane were very accommodating as we had flown in to Christchurch that evening and arrived at 10pm, greeting us at the gate and getting the cabin set up for young kids. It was an easy drive up to Mt Hutt and nearby Methven. Would love to come back again one day."

Matthew October 2018

"Such a beautiful picturesque escape! We absolutely loved our time here it is a gorgeous place.. far too short a stay as we only booked for 2 nights it is perfect place to relax go for a nice walk around the grounds enjoy a spa next to a babbling brook. It’s out of the way but still close enough to get anything you might need from the nearest town. We would love to come back and stay again. The hosts are also lovely and easy to contact and communicate with."

Stephanie - October 2018

"This place is absolutely amazing! So nice, clean and well built! We had a very lively stay here! Robert is such an great host! Can’t wait to come back!"

Haze October 2018

"Robert’s place was beyond perfect. There were so many added touches. The place just pampers you with its stunning views all around outside and it’s luxury touches inside. The bed was so comfortable with silky soft sheets. The kitchen was well stocked with high quality appliances and sturdy cookware. I love it when a vacation house has heavy solid silverware. It signals to me the owners attention to detail and to make the rental feel more like a home. The furniture throughout the house was comfortable and homey. The views were wonderful from every room. We loved watching the swans and ducks on the pond with the backdrop of mountains all around. It was truly a magical place and the location was great for some nearby hikes. We did travel to Mt. Sunday which was about an hour and a half, but the drive was beautiful and the hike was fantastic. We also hiked the Rakaia gorge which was only 15 minutes away from the house. We could have stayed longer. Thank you Robert and Jane for all the care you take in making this vacation rental the best it can be."

William - December 2018

"Lovely view of the lake with a little stream next to the house. Remotely located by the river that promises tranquility and excellent opportunity to relax Luxurious cottage with well-furnished amenities Enjoyed my stay very much Note no mobile connection unless you are with Vodafone but it has good internet access which is no problem at all"

Andy December 2018

"Beautiful house in a magical location. Plenty of room. This is big scale with en-suites and large fireplaces. Nice touches such as heated bathroom floors and electric blankets which we were very grateful for during our stay. You will love sitting in the spa looking out at the vast landscape. A fabulous place which we all loved."

Pru June2019

"Wow. This accommodation was an amazing end to our South Island road trip. It's so luxurious and comfortable you won't want to leave. The views are incredible, the house is perfect. Robert was quick with communication and offered above and beyond assistance when required. Don't hesitate to book in at Montrose Estates for an unforgettable experience."

Dan - Feb 2018

"“This place is incredible for a romantic weekend away and very good value for money. The listing doesn't say it (or didn't when we booked) but there's also a lovely outdoor hot tub too. Due to some high winds, we didn't get a chance to enjoy it but the beautiful indoors and fire sure made up for it. One thing to note that the kitchen is sparce on supplies (no olive oil or rock salt etc), so make sure to bring all the ingredients you may need. All in all, a truly amazing place. ”"

Kirsty July 2018

"“Fabulous house to base yourself in Mt Hutt and fabulous hosts. Had everything we needed including beautiful sheets, spare towels for the spa, and a fabulous fireplace. Kitchen had everything we needed. Was such an idyllic spot - loved our stay and would certainly return if ever in the area again. High recommend - 5 star. ”"

Helen July 2018

"A Winter Paradise! The location was amazing! Such fantastic views from the cosy home which was so lovely and had everything you could need. We unfortunately only stayed two nights but it’s definitely a place we would come back to."

Simone July 2018

"Stunning interior and views. Spacious spa bath. Friendly staff."

Nicola June 2018

"“We are ruined! No other place can compare now. It was seriously wonderful, what a beautiful place with an amazing view! So serene and calm. Come here with a good book, good company & good wine as you won’t really want to leave the house much. Everything well equipped just need your food. I loved the kiwi products left for us in the bathroom. Mini shampoo, conditioner, bath wash & moisturisers were thoughtful touches. We will go back.”"

Beck April 2018

"Best accommodation ever Everything that you need for a romantic stay you will get at teata cottage. The views are breathtaking. It exceeded all our expectations."

Dantoc May 2018

"Peace, serenity and tranquility - a perfect getaway! The location is incredible and the peace and tranquility were just what we needed. We loved everything about our stay here. We walked, watched the sunrise over the mountains, fished in the river, sat by the fire, even all jumped in the pond to cool off! (It’s not as cold as you think!) at night we took blankets out to the deck and lay out there watching shooting stars and satellites! We had a ball! Paewaka is a lovely character house with loads of space - perfect for 2 adults and 3 kids (& 2 other visitors during the day). Robert checked in each day to make sure everything was good - and even Poi the dog made things better as we missed our dogs at home! Thanks Jane and Robert!"

Vanessa April 2018

""

Tobiuo - Jan 2018

"Stunning views and perfect tranquility Stunning views, luxury interior design , kitchen equipped with all the things that you would need, little walk to the private lake down the house, perfect tranquility, easy check in. Brilliant choice to celebrate our new year eve there."

YU - Jan 2018

"Well appointed and comfortable chalet in very secluded location with nice views. Great place to chill after a road trip. Handy for visiting Lake Colerage which is worth a visit."

David Feb 2018

"Fabulous well appointed property in a magnificent setting The setting is amazing, the house is fabulous and the fittings and furniture all top quality luxury. The master suite is large and has magnificent views from bed. Bathrooms were great, showers terrific, full laundry facilities. Loads of cooking equipment and crockery and glasses etc."

Kim Jan 2018

"The best place during our New Zealand Vacation Fantastic location close to a lake very calm with a stunning view Lovely comfortable house that is equipped with everything that you can imagine to need .Very friendly and responsive staff"

Thomas Dec 2017

"The online photos clearly show that this is an exceptional place to stay, but they fail to do it full justice. The cabin is perched on a hillside, between two running streams. It overlooks its own private lake filled with black swans. It commands a sweeping view of the Rakaia Gorge and the hills beyond. From the outside, the cabin appears quite modest, but inside you encounter understated luxury. It exudes quality. Having given out five stars for several of the fine homes in our month long trip to NZ, that's the most I can do here, but this is the one I'll never forget."

Edward - November 2017

"Large spacious accommodation. Amazing views and setting. It was lovely. Super relaxing. We didn't want to leave! I feel relaxed just thinking about it."

Lucy - October 2017

"The pictures and descriptions of this place don't do it adequate justice. It is surrounded by towering mountains yet set in a gorgeous and private river valley. My family and I loved this place, our favorite spot of the 5 Airbnb's we stayed at while in New Zealand. Great for kids and adults alike. We loved the track leading to the property. Robert and Jane were a pleasure to interact with and we took up way too much of Robert's time asking questions and chatting with him. Thanks Robert and Jane!"

Josh - Oct 2017

"Such a beautiful and tranquil spot. We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful and peaceful break with the kids. Waking to the sound of birds and running water is just blissful! Robert and Jane are fantastic and welcoming hosts, and the house was great. The kids loved the walk down to the river and exploring round the lake and the scenery is out of this world. Felt like we were a lot further away from home than we were!"

Cat - Sept 2017

""

Mike - August 2017

"There is a difference between staying at a place and enjoying the entire experience and that's what this place offers as a huge success. We arrived at 2am due to our flight time and Robert still greeted us and showed us through the house. The house has a grandeur feel about it and is complimented by a stunning view. We loved being out of the main town. We had the fire going every night and the spa and shower steam room offer added extras. Definitely recommend this house. We will be back."

Kelly - August 2017

"Ever-changing awe-inspiring views. Perfect tranquility. Luxury accommodation. Friendly hosts. Amazing property with private lake."

Michael - July 2017

"Montrose Estate was the BEST place we have EVER stayed!! It was the first stop on our honeymoon in NZ and we couldn't have picked a better place to start it off. The property was just wonderful, it was so comfortable, so much thought has clearly gone in to the design and furnishing of it. We had everything we needed and more, a beautiful open fire, gorgeous living area, bedrooms and bathrooms, and incredible views over the Rakaia Gorge. It was beautiful! And very conveniently situated for some snow sports on Mount Hutt! Thanks for a fabulous stay."

Amy - July 2017

"The property is breathtakingly stunning. The cabins are perfect, nestled into the gentle hills on the property overlooking the crystal clear lake out the front. This place is what dreams are made of! Stayed with my husband and kids and we did not want to leave. Mt Hutt skiing was very convenient to get to from the accommodation."

Samara - June 2017

"Amazing amazing place. Blew us away, perfect luxury get away in a log cabin, over looking the mountains and Rakaia Gorge. The place is very well set up, luxury bed linens, well appointed kitchen, big open Log fire. One master has a steam shower the other spa bath looking over a babbling brook. The out door spa pool has amazing views. This place is something you would see in North America. Stunning. We will be back."

Daniel - May 2017

"A marvelous scenic location with spectacular accommodation. We stayed at the Paewaka house which has four bedrooms, huge kitchen, dining and lounge areas, a library, three fireplaces, bedroom spa bath with a view, a steam-shower and balconies for everyone. We were in heaven with the two of us and could also imagine all the amazing family and friends vacations that might be had there. Communication with Robert was seamless & welcoming. A wonderful experience."

Nicole - April 2017

"Wow. We had such a fantastic weekend in this beautiful place - it's really special. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, as is the setting, nestled in between the mountains and the river. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We'd love to stay again."

Lauren - March 2017

"Definitely one of the best places we stayed at in NZ! Absolutely amazing place! Spectacular views. The cottage has everything you need. Great full kitchen. Nice big screen TVs and high speed internet. The indoor fireplace was romantic and turned a chilly/wet day into a day for our memories. I highly recommend this place! You wont regret it!"

Prashant - March 2017

"Montrose Estate is a hidden gem waiting to be discovered. At the bottom of a long lush drive is possibly one of the most dramatic views I've seen in a long time. The lodge (Paewaka) is perfectly equipped with all the modern features you wouldn't neccesarily see in traditional lodges (extremely fast wifi too). The Kitchen is a dream to cook in, with an incredible oven. The en-suite is very luxurious as is the entire lodge. My partner and I were so amazed by the property we immediately asked to extend and were fortunate that Robert Jane were so accommodating. They are both incredible hosts going to every measure to make sure our stay was effortless. The property and experience is incredible value for money!! We will be back every time we come to New Zealand!"

Peter - February 2017

"The cabin was maybe even more beautiful in real life than in pictures. Very well equipped too and the scenery was amazing from the large windows. Robert and Jane were so welcoming and nice. We would definitely stay again - a perfect ending to our New Zealand honeymoon. :)"

Erika - January 2017

"Love, love, love this house. Everything was far much better than we expected it to be, and Robert made us feel welcome and did so much more than we could ever ask for. After an hour in the house we found a bubble bath for four that wasn't on the pictures. It was very clean, homely and if we ever have the opportunity for a holiday like this again this would be our first choice for accommodation. Highly recommend it. We give it six stars out of five!"

Hans - Jan 2017

"This place is absurdly gorgeous. It is remote so bring everything that you'll need since it's a drive to the nearest store but once you're here, you won't want to leave. Don't expect room service and massages on call. This is a ranch and the homes are first class but is is definitely "self contained luxury" as they describe themselves. If you like to hike, there's a couple options north on the road you took to get here that are excellent. One of the best and unique places I've ever stayed and I've traveled the world."

Stephen - January 2017

"Lovely upscale accommodations. Very private yet not far from town with shops. Robert met us & showed us around. Spa tub was hot & ready upon arrival. Sauna shower was a hit. Basics available for cooking. Beds very comfortable. The night sky was fantastic for star gazing. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you."

Kim December 2016

"It is a beautiful place and location, perfectly appointed with high quality facilities"

Rhob - December 2016

"Montrose is one of the most amazing places I have ever been to in my travels. I find myself constantly looking at my iPhone and wishing I was back there. Robert and Jane were fantastic and the accommodation was well above my expectations. 5 Star - in all aspects."

Chris November 2016